Click here to edit subtitle

Golden Bear Football History

Upper Arlington Football is proud to tell the story of the Upper Arlington Golden Bear Football program which carries a strong tradition of excellence on the athletic field. We’ve compiled examples of the outstanding performances the Golden Bears have demonstrated since 1926.

Remembering Coach Marv Moorehead

From 1956 to 1970, Marv Moorehead turned Upper Arlington into the top football program in Ohio. His last six teams’ records were 57-1 (the only loss to the #1 team); ranked in the top five in Ohio each year in Division I; and won three consecutive State Championships before retiring at age 39.
More important to Coach Moorehead than wins and losses, was transforming his players into “better boys.” Psychologists insist a boy cannot become a man without a mentor who teaches him how to become a man. Coach Moorehead mentored hundreds of impressionable young men, teaching them life lessons and helping to form their moral compass.
Tom Morgan, UAHS Class of 1967, has compiled several of Coach Moorehead's lessons and inspirational messages into one document.

Jim Ruisinger

Jim Ruisinger is a 1973 Upper Arlington High School graduate and a long-time supporter of Upper Arlington football. He has compiled individual game scores for nearly every season of Golden Bear football, all the way back to 1926, the first year in our team’s history. He used the UAHS yearbook as the source for his information and his list is complete except for a few years. Thank you Jim!

Facts About The Golden Bears

  • The Upper Arlington Golden Bear Football team held the State Championship Title in 1967, 1968, 1969 and 2000.
  • The Upper Arlington Golden Bear Football team was State Runner-Up in 1974
  • In 85 years of football, the Golden Bears have played 820 games with 589 wins and 208 losses and 21 ties
  • Sixty-two players have been selected All Ohio and ten of those players were also All Americans
  • Upper Arlington Golden Bears are ranked 7th in Winning Teams in Ohio High School History
  • The Golden Bears have gone to the State Playoffs in 1974, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1988, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2011

The following Golden Bears are All-Americans

  • 1950 – Douglas Goodsell
  • 1966 – Denton K. Lawrence
  • 1967 – Stephen W. Sikora
  • 1968 – Ted McNulty
  • 1971 – Richard R. Slager
  • 1971 – Bob Grasso
  • 1971 – Brendan Donovan 
  • 1975 – Patrick H. Boggs
  • 1978 – Louis G. Arvanetes
  • 1981 – Mark W. Pfister
  • 2013 – Chris Frey